If you, like me, constantly find yourself asking, "Is such-and-such grain gluten-free?," you'll be relieved to know that there's an easy way to remember, at a basic level, which grains and flours contain gluten.
Just think of the acronym B.R.O.W.S.
B arley R ye O at (if it's not labeled gluten-free) W heat (includes Kamut, khorasan, einkorn, and farro) S pelt (which is a species of wheat)
Shop the Story
And since triticale is a hybrid of wheat and rye (both of which are in the acronym), it, too, contains gluten (though does not fit into the word as nicely).
While none of the grains mentioned above would be suitable for people with Celiac disease, the various grains do contain more and less amounts of gluten and therefore might be tolerated differently by gluten-intolerant eaters, depending on the individual.
Now that you know which grains contain gluten, here are 10 gluten-free recipes to get started on:
A (former) student of English, a lover of raisins, a user of comma splices. My spirit animal is an eggplant. I'm probably the person who picked all of the cookie dough out of the cookie dough ice cream. For that, I'm sorry.