🔕 🔔
Loading…

My Basket ()

All questions

Commercial pie crust ok for vegan or kosher eater?

I have a commercial pumpkin pie with a pastry crust but no ingredient list on package. Does anyone know likelihood of lard, beef suet or other animal fat in it? I seem to remember that lard was often used. Need to know to avoid serving to vegan and kosher eaters.

Nancy is a trusted home cook.

asked almost 3 years ago

Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)

5 answers 1185 views
730e314f caf5 438f 9a9a 998057ffb9ff  20151109 150352
Susan W

Susan W is a trusted source on General Cooking.

added almost 3 years ago

I doubt real animal fats were used. It's probably made with vegetable shortening, but I with no ingredients list, I would serve something else.

Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)

730e314f caf5 438f 9a9a 998057ffb9ff  20151109 150352
Susan W

Susan W is a trusted source on General Cooking.

added almost 3 years ago

Also, something I recently learned is that strict vegans do not eat regular table sugar because it is filtered through charred animal bones. They would use evaporated cane sugar instead.

8425a5f0 773c 4ccd b24e 9e75b44477a8  monita photo
Monita

Monita is a Recipe Tester for Food52

added almost 3 years ago

If the pie/crust was Kosher it would have some certification like OU or Star K. Without that and any ingredient list someone who kept Kosher wouldn't consider it kosher. If this is commercially produced, it is required to have an ingredient list, including for the crust. So if you don't see any lard or other meat products, or eggs in the ingredient list then it is probably vegan but still not necessarily kosher. If you got this at a bakery, I would call and ask them for an ingredient list.

Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)

23b88974 7a89 4ef5 a567 d442bb75da04  avatar
Nancy

Nancy is a trusted home cook.

added almost 3 years ago

Thanks for your answers. Enough doubts so I won't serve this & will make something from scratch. Susan W thx for info about sugar - I didn't know. FYI in related matter, maple syrup is often poured through lard at end of refining (to reduce foam, the way a pat of butter is sometimes added to jam at the end of cooking). So, not for vegan/kosher guests either.

Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)

730e314f caf5 438f 9a9a 998057ffb9ff  20151109 150352
Susan W

Susan W is a trusted source on General Cooking.

added almost 3 years ago

I had no idea that was done with maple syrup. It's supposed to be a vegan alternative to sugar. The things that are done with food are mind boggling.

Loading…

Reset
Password

  Enter your email below and we'll send you instructions on how to reset your password

Account Created

Welcome!

Logged In

Enjoy!

Email Sent

Please check your email for instructions
on how to reset your password

Successfully logged out

Let's Keep in Touch!

Get the recipes and features that have us talking, plus first dibs on events and limited-batch products.

(Oh, and $10 off your order of $50 or more in the Food52 Shop, too.)

Please enter a valid email address.