🔕 🔔
Loading…

My Basket ()

All questions

I'm looking for smooth mouthfeel for meatballs. Does anyone have an opinion regarding using a mixer rather than hand-blending the meat?

One of the 'rules' to successful meatballs has always been 'don't over work your mixture' but I am looking for a smoother mouth feel in the final result. Does anyone use their stand mixer on meatball mixture prior to shaping?

asked by Jann Kelliher 10 months ago
7 answers 278 views
397bc6d3 46e8 4d02 8a39 ce4a087eb481  2015 0609 amanda portrait 135
Amanda Hesser

Amanda is a co-founder of Food52.

added 10 months ago

Hi Jann, this recipe produces extremely light, moist meatballs. https://food52.com/recipes... -- might be worth reading through. Hope it's helpful!

23b88974 7a89 4ef5 a567 d442bb75da04  avatar
PHIL

PHIL is a trusted home cook.

added 10 months ago

They definitely make a good meatball at Rao's. Their recipe is a classic recipe I think anyone with southern Italian roots makes. My recipe is very similar but on occasion I like to add raisins and pine nuts. ALWAYS HAND MIX!!

0022585b ac31 476f 99fb ddea69bdece6  fb avatar
added 10 months ago

My husband's Swedish grandmother's recipe for meatballs calls for using a mixer for blending the meat mixture with the bread soaked in milk, sautéed onions, etc. They are then baked before being simmered in a broth/cream gravy. They are delicious.

23b88974 7a89 4ef5 a567 d442bb75da04  avatar
added 10 months ago

Thank you, Jeinde. I do bake the meatballs as well when making a few hundred at a time. I appreciate you taking the time to respond.

23b88974 7a89 4ef5 a567 d442bb75da04  avatar
added 10 months ago

Hi Jann, I would agree that overworking can make the meat tough. Here are my ideas for aiding a smooth mouth feel: ask your butcher to grind the meat finer. If possible, use meat with a higher ratio of fat to meat, say 20% fat. You can try incorporating some gelatin (hydrated with some water) into your meat mixture, or you can try incorporating some ricotta into the mixture. Or use a beaten egg in your meat mixture. All of these techniques should make your meatballs more tender and hydrated.
I suspect that recipes that instruct to soak breadcrumbs in milk before shaping the meatballs are also using that step to hydrate and soften the final dish.
Browning followed by a simmer in a sauce will make them tender too.

23b88974 7a89 4ef5 a567 d442bb75da04  avatar
added 10 months ago

Thanks for the suggestions, E E. The finer grind might just make the biggest difference here. Appreciate it !

23b88974 7a89 4ef5 a567 d442bb75da04  avatar
added 10 months ago

Jann, I hope it helps. I'd love to know what works for you. E E

Let's Keep in Touch!

Get the recipes and features that have us talking, plus first dibs on events and limited-batch products.

(Oh, and $10 off your order of $50 or more in the Food52 Shop, too.)

Please enter a valid email address.