Make Ahead

Teddie's Apple Cake

June  3, 2021
38 Ratings
Photo by James Ransom
Author Notes

Consider this the holiday season's lovable anytime cake -- breakfast, snack, and show-stopping dessert all in one. Serve it with coffee for breakfast, with whipped cream for dessert. Gift it; freeze it; portion it out for a bake sale. Feel free to swap in booze-soaked raisins or darker sugars, whole wheat or olive oil -- this cake is virtually indestructible. Adapted very slightly from The New York Times and Jean Hewitt. —Genius Recipes

Watch This Recipe
Teddie's Apple Cake
  • Prep time 30 minutes
  • Cook time 1 hour 15 minutes
  • Serves 8
Ingredients
  • Butter for greasing pan
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting pan
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 cups peeled, cored, and thickly sliced tart apples like Honeycrisp or Granny Smith
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup raisins
  • Vanilla ice cream or whipped cream (optional)
In This Recipe
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour a 9-inch tube pan. Beat the oil and sugar together in a mixer (fitted with a paddle attachment) while assembling the remaining ingredients. After about 5 minutes, add the eggs and beat until the mixture is creamy.
  2. Sift together 3 cups of flour, the salt, cinnamon and baking soda. Stir into the batter. Add the vanilla, apples, walnuts and raisins and stir until combined.
  3. Transfer the mixture to the prepared pan. Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool in the pan before lifting out. Serve at room temperature with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream, if desired.

See what other Food52ers are saying.

  • Marla K. Goldstein
    Marla K. Goldstein
  • QueenSashy
    QueenSashy
  • Karen Taggart
    Karen Taggart
  • LobsterBrieAvocadoBreath
    LobsterBrieAvocadoBreath
  • Jeanne
    Jeanne
Genius Recipes

Recipe by: Genius Recipes

197 Reviews

Renie September 11, 2021
I wanted to make this cake, but I was almost out of white flour (imagine) so I filled in with wheat flour, about 50/50. The result was AMAZING.
 
Renie September 20, 2021
I meant All Purpose flour and filled in with Whole Wheat
 
modenadreaming December 2, 2020
My recipe is very similar and is from Food and Wine, 2007. The recipe does not include nuts or raisin. But it finishes the cake with a Toffee Crust. So delicious.
 
Marla K. December 2, 2020
I've made this frequently. I substitute walnut oil for some of the vegetable oil and use a mix of brown sugar and regular cane sugar. Also, I use dried, sweetened cranberries, rather than raisins. I also cut the apples into smaller pieces. Coat the greased bundt pan with granulated sugar. It gives the cake a lovely crunch on the outside.

This cake is always a huge hit.
 
HMHB November 25, 2020
One of my favorites. I also use less sugar and substitute apple pie spice mix in place of the cinnamon and I leave out the raisins. Have also made it with gluten-free almond flour baking mix.
 
QueenSashy October 23, 2020
I also found that 2 cups of sugar is a bit too much. Scant 1 3/4 cups is perfect for those with sweet tooth, and 1 1/2 for those who like less sweet desserts. Other than that it is one of our favorite cakes. Another great option is to use half apples and half grated carrots -- it's wonderful.
 
Karen T. October 21, 2020
Way too sweet! Hardly tasted the apples - just sugar!
 
Macheese May 12, 2020
This is one of my all time favorite cake recipes that I've made ever since the NY times cookbook came out--it's a perfect every day cake, fast enough to make when you have a cake craving, and perfect for breakfast the next day. I recently decided to go on a plant based diet and have to say, this is not bad as a vegan option, mostly because the fat is oil. We substituted ground flax seed for the eggs. 1 Tb flax seed + 3 Tb water = one egg (mix with hot water and leave for 5-10 minutes while mixing other ingredients and slicing apples). The texture of the batter was slightly gummy compared to the version with eggs. It however baked up nicely (I baked it in 2 8" pans for 40 min), the cake itself has a bit of a chewy crust, which was delicious, and it was just as moist as the original version. I would definitely make it plant based again and not tell guests about it, because it's just that good!
 
Leek April 16, 2020
This cake is great! It is the best way I have found to preserve the apples off my tree. I bake it in muffin tins then freeze them fir individualservings whenever we want. When my daughter asked for more after going through several bags in the freezer, I new I had a hit!
 
Kt4 May 20, 2020
I was thinking of doing this. How long do you cook the muffins for? THanks in advance!
 
cpc November 22, 2019
You had me at boozy raisins. I tossed the raisins with a couple of tablespoons of bourbon and let them soak while I measured, sifted and chopped. I used 4 apples, a combination of Courtlands, honey crisp & pink lady. I also subbed in 1 cup of buckwheat flour for the ap flour. I wish I’d added another teaspoon or two or spice but otherwise it’s great!
 
PJ October 27, 2019
Can I freeze this? Went apple picking and the need to get my moneys worth exceeding my need for apples!
 
csemsack November 6, 2019
Yes
 
Robin October 1, 2019
Can I eliminate the raisins?
 
Jeanne October 1, 2019
Yes, in my opinion. I’ve made this cake since 1973 and I’ve eliminated the raisins on occasion without any issue.
 
Robin October 1, 2019
Thank you!!
 
LobsterBrieAvocadoBreath September 30, 2019
I love love love this cake. Made it plenty to rave revies. Has anyone tried a gluten-free version? If so, how did you tweak the recipe, and how did it go. I haven't really ever had to accomodate my baking for gluten free reasons. I am having a guest who has gluten issues. What a treat this cake would be if that were possible.
 
Johanna T. October 12, 2019
I would just substitute the flour for almond flour that Costco & Whole Foods have . I have made several gluten free cakes & that’s what I use . It has a little different texture than flour however it has a nice flavor & would pair well with apple. Good luck
 
Aimee E. December 1, 2019
I've been gluten-free (GF) for 13+ years and most cakes work really well with gluten-free flour swapped in provided you follow one rule: measure your GF flour mix by weight instead of volume. By volume, are likely to end up with too much GF flour and the cake's texture will be wrong.

Regarding which flour to substitute, if you want a result that is basically indistinguishable from a normal cake, I find Bob's 1-1 Gluten-Free Baking flour (currently sold in light blue bags) to be the best mix (NOT Bob's gluten-free all-purpose mix which has garbanzo flour - that flavor is not good in cakes). There are also good suggested GF mixes from Cook's Illustrated or the Cannelle et Vanille blog if you don't want to buy Bob's premixed, but you'll need about 4 ingredients.
 
Kkmooney September 30, 2019
This was the best apple cake I've ever eaten! I chopped the apples fine. It was incredibly moist, and was wonderful with vanilla ice cream, but the ice cream was not needed at all. This is truly a keeper!
 
Megan A. September 29, 2019
Made this today-- and I think I read all the 174 reviews first, but somehow still feel i have something to add. Two things, in fact! 1) I made this in 2 loaf pans, as others did, and in my oven they took 40 minutes. One was glass, one was aluminum. 2) I like desserts not too sweet or too oily, so I took others' advice on this and changed the fat, adjusted flours, and reduced the sweetener. Did 1/2 c greek yogurt, 1/3 c butter, and 1/2 cup oil. That part worked well. It's very moist, but not greasy. I did half AP flour and half whole wheat, and that made it interesting but less cake like and more breakfast-bread like. And I think 1 c. of sugar, if you want it to taste like a cake and not a breakfast bread, is too little. I did half brown and half white sugars totaling 1 cup.

All to say, I would make this again like I did with the expectation that it is a yummy breakfast or brunch treat, but not a dessert. Or I would make it again as a dessert to be served with ice cream or whipped cream after dinner, and then I would probably do 1.5 c of sugar and keep the flour all AP.

There you go- my 2 cents!
 
plevee September 29, 2019
Delicious and well received.I followed the recipe exactly and baked it in 2 loaf pans for the same time as the tube pan. I'll add a little more spice next time.
 
Diana N. August 22, 2019
I have a question. Can I use a bunt pan instead of a tube pan?
 
Kt October 5, 2019
I just used a bundt pan two nights ago and it turned out great; same baking time as tube pan!
 
Jeanne August 21, 2019
Teddie’s Apple Cake!! My very favorite!! I’ve been making it since I was a brand new wife for my then-medical-school husband back in 1973. It’s absolutely “autumn” no doubt about it!!
 
lgh07 August 12, 2019
One of my absolute favorite recipes! Made it countless times, per the recipe.
 
Lydia W. November 10, 2018
Wonderful! A very thick batter that turns into a beautifully moist cake. Now to play with additional spices.
 
Lucy F. September 16, 2018
This cake is absolutely delicious! I, however, am more of a fan of apple-spice cakes, and was slightly disappointed to see cinnamon as the only spice. So I added a couple shakes of nutmeg and ginger, a generous two punches of allspice, and a pinch of cloves. I also left out the nuts. It turned out absolutely delicious!!!