Are macarons gluten free?
Barbara is a trusted source on General Cooking.
Macarons are generally made from egg whites, almond flour and sugar, none of which contain gluten. (You meant gluten and not glue, right?)
Yes, macarons are gluten free - the key 'flour'/main ingredient is ground almond nut flour (referably blanched).
drbabs and kitchen butterfly are right on point, but you should always ask about a recipe before you buy your macarons because every dealer makes them with different variations. If your looking to specifically buy gluten-free macarons, there are plently on online macarons companies that will ship to you, such as Dana's Bakery in New Jersey. This is only one of many, but ask what kind of shipping packages they use because you don't want your macarons to show up at a lesser quality then when they came out of the oven!
Please enter a valid email address.
Well played. You deserve a cookie.
Don't worry: it'll still bring you luck in the New Year
Olive Oil Sesame Carrot Cake
A Short History of the Pillsbury Bake-Off
Splatter-Be-Gone Mixing Bowls
Some Unexpected Places We Found Food This Week
Knives, According To An Expert
prevented successful signup:
We'll never post anything without your permission.
prevented successful login:
Thanks for signing up!
Connect with us to get more Food52!
Sign up for our useful, inspired emails and we'll
give you everything you need to eat and live better—including
recipes, how-tos, and exclusives and great gift ideas from our
kitchen and home shop.