We use agar agar for vegetarians and gelatin for non veg is that correct?Is gelatin veg or non-veg?
Non-veg I believe. I think it is made from the hoofs of cows and pigs unless they have changed the process!
Yep, gelatin is an animal product. Not just from hooves, but from pig and cow skin and bones. It's a form of collagen. Somewhat unpleasant, when you think about it.
Gelatin is semi natural product that uses the hoofs of horse and pigs. There are now gelatins that use plant byproducts so you may be able to find those. I would advise not to use any gelatin that does not specifically say, Vegetarian friendly, as it probably uses animal byproducts in it.
And, keep in mind that most gelatin is not halaal, so if you are serving to muslims, you should avoid as well unless the gelatin is marked halaal. There is such a thing, we even got halaal gummy bears in Egypt!
Please enter a valid email address.
Well played. You deserve a cookie.
This year's Piglet Community Picks are up to you!
Nominate Your Favorite Cookbooks
Meatballs for Dinner All Week
Eggnog Without a Recipe
The Illustrated Biographies of 16 1/2 Global Desserts
Peanut Butter (or Tahini!) Brioche
prevented successful signup:
We'll never post anything without your permission.
prevented successful login:
Thanks for signing up!
Connect with us to get more Food52!
Sign up for our useful, inspired emails and we'll
give you everything you need to eat and live better—including
recipes, how-tos, and exclusives and great gift ideas from our
kitchen and home shop.