What grains are appropriate for a wheat allergy?
quinoa & rice
Amarath, Buckwheat, Corn, Millet, Quinoa, Rice, Teff and Wild Rice are some.
Lots! Keep in mind that a wheat allergy is different than a gluten allergy. Wheat allergies usually only affect wheat grain or grain mixes including wheat. Gluten allergies affect many more grains.
Safe (wheat-free, not gluten-free) grains: kamut, barley, rye.
Safe (gluten-free & wheat-free) grains: quinoa, rice, millet, buckwheat, amaranth, specifically grown & processed gluten-free oats, corn, chia (a seed), tapioca, potato, any bean-derived flour. Keep in mind that flour can be made from lots of different wheat-free sources. Safe grains are slightly more limited than your flour options. Be creative!
Here are some resources:
Please enter a valid email address.
Well played. You deserve a cookie.
Plus a project idea and some cute supplies!
10 Ways to Give Your Bathroom a Fresh Look
The West Elm Couch from Hell
Cookbook or Meal-Planning Manual? Both!
Dinner Emergencies, Solved
You've Mastered the Cocktail, Now Get the Glass
prevented successful signup:
We'll never post anything without your permission.
prevented successful login:
Thanks for signing up!
Connect with us to get more Food52!
Get the recipes and features that have us talking, plus first dibs on events and limited-batch products.
(Oh, and $10 off your order of $50 or more in the Food52 Shop, too.)