Is buckwheat made from wheat?
Buckwheat is actually a seed! It doesn't come from wheat, despite its name. It is gluten free, and can be used raw, toasted, or ground into flour. Popular uses are buckwheat pancakes and buckwheat (soba) noodles.
Emily is a trusted source on General Cooking.
It's not actually, despite the name. It's related to rhubarb and sorrel and is native to central Asia.
Please enter a valid email address.
Well played. You deserve a cookie.
Just don't sub black bean purée for flour and expect good results
10 Fail-Proof Ingredient Swaps
Make Your Bed (Better!)
Cereal for Dinner
Shop Glitzy, Glimmery Glasses
prevented successful signup:
We'll never post anything without your permission.
prevented successful login:
Thanks for signing up!
Connect with us to get more Food52!
Sign up for our useful, inspired emails and we'll
give you everything you need to eat and live better—including
recipes, how-tos, and exclusives and great gift ideas from our
kitchen and home shop.