what is your opinion of coconut sugar? Can it be used as a substitute for white sugar in baking?

  • Posted by: mercer
  • July 7, 2014
  • 1402 views
  • 11 Comments

11 Comments

Stephanie G. July 8, 2014
As for an opinion of coconut sugar, we did not really like it. I tried it in baked goods as well as on top of muesli or in hot cocoa. I have a half used bag that is sitting in the back of my cupboard. Frankly, I prefer any sweetener over coconut sugar. That is just my humble opinion. You may like it...if you have a bulk section in your store try looking there first to try a small bit before you buy the whole bag.
 
boulangere July 8, 2014
I agree, Stephanie G. I find its flavor pretty uninteresting.
 
butter S. July 8, 2014
I love it! If you are looking for a recipe that uses it (alongside lots of other coconut products), here's my favorite: https://food52.com/recipes/22104-little-coconut-cakes
 
Susan W. July 7, 2014
Seemed a bit much considering her question, but we shall see. ,:0)
 
boulangere July 7, 2014
Yes, you can. However, coconut sugar is sort of a 2-edged sword. It is said to be lower on the glycemic index (GI) than table sugar, sucrose. A study I saw compared table sugar, with a GI of 60, to coconut sugar, with a GI of 35. That appears to be a significant difference. As well, coconut sugar contains some nutrients - Iron, Zinc, Calcium, and Potassium. At the same time, in order to consume any meaningful amount of those nutrients, one would need to to consume such a high amount of coconut sugar as to negate any possible GI considerations. Coconut sugar also contains inulin fiber, which is said to slow absorption of glucose, which sugars are on the final end in terms of metabolism.

Then there is the issue of how it is produced. The bud of the coconut flower is tapped to remove the sap, which is then cooked down and refined into the final product. Which means that the tree is no longer producing coconuts. With increased production, the price of coconut sugar may fall, while that of other coconut products, such as oil and coconut itself, will surely rise.

As with everything else in life, good news, bad news.
 
Susan W. July 7, 2014
Good lord
 

Voted the Best Reply!

boulangere July 7, 2014
Well, Susan, she asked for an opinion and she got one, along with some decent information to grown her own.
 
Maedl July 8, 2014
That's good info, Boulangere. When you say the bud is removed from the tree, does that mean there is only one bud per tree? If that is the case, that seems a bit unsustainable. I've tried coconut sugar and was not impressed--I thought it added a flavor I didn't care for, which is odd because I love coconut.
 
boulangere July 8, 2014
Oh, good question, Maedl. No, there are several buds per tree. The problem is that once a bud is tapped, it will not produce a coconut. Coconuts produce many products: coir from the fibrous wrapping around the shell, the fruit, the water. A tapped bud, on the other hand produces one product: coconut, or palm, sugar. And you're right; it is not sustainable.
 
dodieblue July 8, 2014
I work for a food company and have been searching for Palm vinegar... Another derivative from the palm trees... It is non-existant as there is such a battle going on over this issue...
Destroying the plants to feed our diet and sweet fads...
 
Susan W. July 7, 2014
Yes it can be substituted 1:1. Some claim it has more of a caramel taste. I have used both side by side and haven't noticed that.
 
Recommended by Food52