Grains

An Easy Way to Remember Which Grains Contain Gluten

January 13, 2016

If you, like me, constantly find yourself asking, "Is such-and-such grain gluten-free?," you'll be relieved to know that there's an easy way to remember, at a basic level, which grains and flours contain gluten.

Just think of the acronym B.R.O.W.S.

Photo by James Ransom

B arley
R ye
O at (if it's not labeled gluten-free)
W heat (includes Kamut, khorasan, einkorn, and farro)
S pelt (which is a species of wheat)

Shop the Story

And since triticale is a hybrid of wheat and rye (both of which are in the acronym), it, too, contains gluten (though does not fit into the word as nicely).

Nope, none of these are gluten-free. Photo by James Ransom

While none of the grains mentioned above would be suitable for people with Celiac disease, the various grains do contain more and less amounts of gluten and therefore might be tolerated differently by gluten-intolerant eaters, depending on the individual.

Join The Conversation

Top Comment:
“It is only due to processing in a facility where other grains (that contain gluten) may contaminate the same machinery that processes the oats such that the processed oats end up containing small amounts of material that "may" contain gluten. ”
— Robert Y.
Comment

Now that you know which grains contain gluten, here are 10 gluten-free recipes to get started on:

9 Comments

Ricki January 17, 2016
And let's not forget that kamut, a cousin of spelt and related to wheat as well, also contains gluten.
 
Author Comment
Sarah J. January 17, 2016
Right. "Wheat" includes Kamut, khorasan, einkorn, and farro.
 
Ricki January 17, 2016
Somehow didn't see that on your acronym! :)
 
Ardyth E. January 17, 2016
In all fairness to King Arthur Flour, they also sell one of the best GF flours and some of the best GF mixes.
 
Robert Y. January 17, 2016
So, what you are saying is that Oats are, inherently, gluten free....as grown, harvested(different combine than just yesterday harvested the wheat) and dried. It is only due to processing in a facility where other grains (that contain gluten) may contaminate the same machinery that processes the oats such that the processed oats end up containing small amounts of material that "may" contain gluten.
 
Ziad January 13, 2016
It is my understanding that oat does not contain gluten, unless you are specifically talking about oat in cereal or granola that may contaminated with grains that contain gluten.
 
Author Comment
Sarah J. January 14, 2016
For those with a serious gluten intolerance or allergy, oats are only acceptable if they are specifically labeled gluten-free (otherwise, the assumption is that they may be contaminated with gluten). The default state of packaged oats = not gluten-free, but due to contamination (not their own composition).
 
Janet M. January 17, 2016
Other grains and flours can be contaminated with gluten too--lesson learned the hard way by my son's girlfriend, diagnosed at age 20 with celiac--we found a source for excellent GF cornmeal, oats, buckwheat, and rice. For those sensitive to even a trace, it's important to do a little research before buying. Well worth it, though!
 
Hibatt January 17, 2016
What is the source?