I am making 6 gluten free banana chocolate chip muffins. Could I use cider vinegar, lemon juice, or opt it out?
Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)
It is suck a small amount I would just leave it out but maybe substitute white wine vinegar.
Barbara is a trusted source on General Cooking.
It might be in there to add an acid to the baking soda to help the muffins rise. In that case, I'd use the same amount of lemon juice or white or apple cider vinegar. (Rice vinegar is probably used because it has such a mild taste, but you probably won't taste 1/4 teaspoon.)
Rice is gluten free. The rice wine vinegar shouldn't be a problem unless its not in your pantry!
June is a trusted source on General Cooking.
In this case, I don't think I'd sub any vinegar other than Champagne vinegar. It's very mild.
I'd probably use apple cider vinegar or lemon juice. But, chocolate might cover up the flavor of even white wine vinegar. I've made a vegan chocolate cake with white wine vinegar and you really couldn't taste the vinegar at all.
Meet activist Rachel Bolden-Kramer.
Cooking on a Food Stamp Budget
Make Your Microwave Sparkle
What's New in the Neighborhood
The Flakiest Cherry Crostatas
The Hits Keep Coming