🔕 🔔
Loading…

My Basket ()

All questions

cheese with no animal rennet

I need to know which cheese uses vegetable based rennet.

asked by Em over 4 years ago

Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)

4 answers 1928 views
0dcfb05c 8a90 480f 8cf7 cbc33e9a6b5c  me
added over 4 years ago

Kosher or pareve cheese does not contain rennin, nor does cheese specifically labelled vegetarian. Also, paneer is one cheese that uses no rennet.

Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)

7b500f1f 3219 4d49 8161 e2fc340b2798  flower bee
added over 4 years ago

Here is an extensive list of cheeses and cheese farms that use vegetarian rennet:
http://cheese.about.com...

Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)

120fa86a 7a24 4cc0 8ee1 a8d1ab14c725  me in munich with fish
added over 4 years ago

More and more, labels are being changed to reflect the type of rennet used, and more and more cheese producers are using vegetarian rennet to appease their customers. Vegetarian rennet is made from a fungus, Mucor miehei.
Many cheese makers will use vegetarian rennet for soft, un-aged or bloomy rind cheeses but will use animal rennet for hard, aged cheeses. This is because veg rennet may cause bitterness in long-aged cheeses.
In any case, you should be able to ask a cheesemonger at a decent cheese shop or at a supermarket with a good cheese counter. They should be able to tell you.

Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)

23b88974 7a89 4ef5 a567 d442bb75da04  avatar
Maedl

Margie is a trusted home cook immersed in German foodways.

added over 4 years ago

I buy much of my cheese at Whole Foods and all I need to do is look at the labels. I bought fresh mozarella yesterday and had a choice of mozzarella made with Jersey cows' milk and veg rennent or non- specific cows' milk and regular rennet. I choose the Jersey version, not because of the rennet but for the Jersey milk.Nice to know what I am buying!

Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)

Loading…

Reset
Password

  Enter your email below and we'll send you instructions on how to reset your password

Account Created

Welcome!

Logged In

Enjoy!

Email Sent

Please check your email for instructions
on how to reset your password

Successfully logged out

Let's Keep in Touch!

Get the recipes and features that have us talking, plus first dibs on events and limited-batch products.

(Oh, and $10 off your order of $50 or more in the Food52 Shop, too.)

Please enter a valid email address.