All questions

Rennet - is it possible to use vegetables?

Been wanting to make cheese and when I get to the part about calf stomach linings for the rennet I back away. Are there other methods?

asked by SKK almost 6 years ago
4 answers 1079 views
0f493ab9 068f 4498 ba2c 95c992214d52  sit2
Sam1148

Sam is a trusted home cook.

added almost 6 years ago

Google for vegetable rennet. But consider, even marshmallows, gelatin etc. Are made from similar animal products (Or which you really don't want to hear the details).
I don't think all but the most 'artisan' cheese makers create their own rennet.
It's available in tablet form from suppliers for the home cheese maker.

3639eee1 5e0d 4861 b1ed 149bd0559f64  gator cake
hardlikearmour

hardlikearmour is a trusted home cook.

added almost 6 years ago

There's a company called Urban Cheesecraft that puts out cheese making kits that use vegetarian rennet. http://www.artfire.com...

3453acc5 6dc9 4a37 aee3 6015bd27590a  profile pic
added almost 6 years ago

Or try one of these, where you wouldn't have to order a whole cheesemaking kit:
http://www.smalldairy.com, http://www.glengarrycheesemaking..., http://www.cheesemaking..., http://eggplantsupply.com

8a5161fb 3215 4036 ad80 9f60a53189da  buddhacat
SKK
added almost 6 years ago

Wow, thank you all

Let's Keep in Touch!

Get the recipes and features that have us talking, plus first dibs on events and limited-batch products.

(Oh, and $10 off your order of $50 or more in the Food52 Shop, too.)

Please enter a valid email address.