Hello! I have tried to make them, but the problem is that oats are swelling and after one day granola bar is really dry. Maybe You have and advice...

...s how to avoid that? Is there a difference if I use gluten free or traditional rolled oats? Thanks

  • 1867 views
  • 6 Comments

6 Comments

Gena H. August 6, 2014
Hi Inga!

There shouldn't be a great difference between GF and regular rolled oats, but oats can certainly vary in terms of absorbency. If you're finding them to be dry or crumbly, I'd try adding a bit more sweetener (maybe 3-4 extra tbsp) and maybe 2 extra tbsp but butter. See if that binds them!

Gena
 
Susan W. August 2, 2014
Nope...not saying trace amounts are okay for celiacs (I had a personal chef client with celiac). I'll bet you are right about the confusion..never thought about that. :)
 
Susan W. August 2, 2014
Strawberrygirl, I think I mentioned the trace amount from processing. :0) I clarified because lately, I have spoken to several people who thought they contained gluten similar to wheat etc.
 
strawberrygirl August 2, 2014
Ah, got it. :) I read it as though you were suggesting trace contamination was not all that common or maybe didn't realize even trace amounts were problematic for celiacs, so I just wanted to add some clarification. I think part of the reason people get confused is that celiacs will often just say they can't eat oats as shorthand rather than get into a whole big thing about it.
 
Susan W. August 1, 2014
I looked at the recipe and it sounds dry. I am not a vegan bar person, but you should know that oats are always gluten free. They may have a trace if processed in a plant that also processes gluten products.
 
strawberrygirl August 2, 2014
Susan, most commercial oats are processed in plants that also process wheat, barley and/or rye, so trace contamination is common unless you buy oats specifically labelled as gluten-free. That's why a lot of people with celiac disease avoid oats, as even small traces can make them quite sick.

Inga, there shouldn't be any difference in the result if you use gluten-free oats. Gluten-free oats are just oats that haven't been grown, stored or processed near gluten-containing grains so you can be certain there's no trace contamination. But I notice the recipe says you can use either quick oats or regular rolled oats, so perhaps there could be a difference in the result depending on which of those kinds you used.
 
Recommended by Food52