How do I make my bread both vegan and golden?

  • Posted by: condon
  • September 1, 2014


Nancy September 2, 2014
Brown a little turmeric, or dissolve some saffron in hot water, and add in last hour or so of cooking.
boulangere September 2, 2014
Browning derives largely from sugars, be it granulated, brown, honey, or molasses in your dough, all of which are vegan.
Susan W. September 2, 2014
Actually...those are not vegan. Granulated sugar is filtered through bone char, brown sugar is granulated sugar, honey is from bees (I think vegans don't use honey). Not sure about molasses, but that may be okay. Evaporated cane syrup would be the substitute for table sugar. I just learned about the sugar thing when someone here asked if it was vegan and I googled to be sure.
Susan W. September 2, 2014
Molasses is indeed vegan. It is a byproduct of granulated sugar that is not filtered through bone char because they want it to be a brown color.
strawberrygirl September 2, 2014
Agave nectar or maple syrup are vegan alternatives to honey.
Recommended by Food52