Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies -- vegan chocolate chips??

GREAT RECIPE for vegans, non vegans and those who keep kosher. QUESTION: what brand of chocolate chips did you use? Until a few years ago, Trader Joe had a pareve chocolate chip (pareve means there were no animal products -- milk, butter -- neither in the chips NOR on the baking machinary - important for people with serious dairy allergy). ALAS -- Trader Joe's chips are now made on dairy equipment. So...which chocolate chips are you using? and thank you for your answer

  • Posted by: fran e
  • June 3, 2019
  • 658 views
  • 5 Comments

5 Comments

Sipa June 3, 2019
Any pure dark chocolate is vegan. Dark chocolate is made from the bean of the cocoa pod. Dairy is not necessary to process it. Pure dark chocolate bars can include cocoa solids and sugar but it can also be made without sugar and it may include an emulsifier such as lecithin and sometimes vanilla is added although not necessary. They are not parve in the sense that the production is not overseen by one of the organizations that insures that. If you can't find vegan chips (I am sure Guittard dark chocolate chips are vegan) then just break up pure chocolate bars into bite size pieces.
 
MQ June 3, 2019
I get the Enjoy Life brand chocolate chips at Publix. There is always a bag of the semi-sweet mini chips at my house! From their web site:

Dairy-free, nut-free and soy-free, our Semi-Sweet Chocolate Mini Chips are delicious in gluten free cookies or straight from the bag. Eat freely knowing this smooth, semi-sweet chocolate is free of 14 common allergens, Certified Gluten-Free and Vegan.
 
Ella Q. June 3, 2019
Hi Fran,

If I ever have trouble finding vegan chocolate chips, I'll buy a vegan chocolate bar and chop that into chunks for my cookies.

Ella
 
louisez June 3, 2019
We get vegan chocolate chips at the local health food store, but have also found them at the supermarket and online. In all cases, read labels to check for ingredients and equipment issues. Also can find white chocolate chips that are vegan (yeah, I know not technically white chocolate, but a vegan equivalent). Do an online search for vegan chocolate chips. That should give you specific brands to look for not only online but in stores. Not home right now to give you specific brands we use.
 
Nancy June 3, 2019
Don't know what brand they used in that recipe, but nuts dot com has some organic and/or kosher chocolate chips. Might be vegan/parve.
Also check baking supply houses (either nearby or online). They may have parve chips or bars of baking chocolate (which you could break up to use like chips).
 
Recommended by Food52