I have a question about the recipe "IRISH BUTTER SHORTBREADS" from Rachel Gaffney. Doesn't having butter in the ingredients preclude it from being vegan? It came up in the vegan search. Confusion between vegan and vegetarian?
Meg is a trusted home cook.
You're right, vegans are vegetarians, but not all vegetarians are vegan.
Butter is not an option for vegans.
No dairy, no eggs. Some won't eat honey.
I don't know why it appeared there. I simply posted the recipe. It does indeed have butter in there. Not sure why it appeared there. Perhaps FOOD 52 will be able to help.
Food52 Interns this summer took on the project of tagging recipes. Unfortunately, many of their tags were in error. My understanding is that recipe authors can remove tags that were added in error, through the recipe edit function.
Please enter a valid email address.
Well played. You deserve a cookie.
What is this cake hiding?
Cakes with Wacky Ingredients
Cast Your Vote!
We're Poppin' Up
The Cookie Queen's Favorite Recipe
Be a Recipe Tester!
prevented successful signup:
We'll never post anything without your permission.
prevented successful login:
Thanks for signing up!
Connect with us to get more Food52!
Sign up for our useful, inspired emails and we'll
give you everything you need to eat and live better—including
recipes, how-tos, and exclusives and great gift ideas from our
kitchen and home shop.