What's the difference between farro and wheatberries?
Are you channeling your best self with this comment? (If you're not sure, check out our Code of Conduct.)
pierino is a trusted source on General Cooking and Tough Love.
Farro is a spelt-like grain. Usually sold "perlato" or "pearled" or as flour. Some people who are "gluten intolerant" find it easier to digest than wheat.
The gluten in spelt is described as "weak." I would guess that farro is similar or stronger, so not allowed if a person is strictly gluten free.
Cynthia is a trusted source on Bread/Baking.
Farro and kamut are one and the same. It is a great grain for salads, soups, etc. It takes a long time to cook, so factor that in. It isn't gluten-free, but is low in gluten.
According to www.farro.ca, farro is "Pharaoh's Wheat" also called emmer; preferred by Italians over wheat for pasta. It is over 7000 years old; spelt 5000; kamut 3000.
Spelt, triticum spelta, fed the Roman legions. By the way, avoid the fim"The Eagle". Marcus and Esca go off to far away Caledonia to bring back the Eagle of the 9th Legion where they meet up with the remnants of the Charlie Daniels Band.
I made this dish tonight and love,love,love it! Will definately make again.
Please enter a valid email address.
Well played. You deserve a cookie.
Happier desk lunches, right this way.
Canned Chickpea Taste Test
A Gallery of Chopsticks
$50 and Under Wonders
Vegan Comfort Foods
A Dansk Plus-One: Buy a Skillet, Get Another on Us
Captcha must be verfied
Already have an account?
Don't have an account?
Please check your email for instructions on how to reset your password
Successfully logged out
Get the recipes and features that have us talking, plus first dibs on events and limited-batch products.
(Oh, and $10 off your order of $50 or more in the Food52 Shop, too.)
Thanks! We'll email you when it's available again.