🔕 🔔

My Basket ()

All questions

Is Caesar dressing vegetarian?

asked by a Whole Foods Market Customer about 6 years ago
5 answers 19838 views
Wholefoods user icon
added about 6 years ago

No...it normally contains anchovies. (sometimes you can find it without) Or, you can easily make your own without anchovies.

8e507f5f d9f6 4f7b bc71 924644356ec4  m eats huarache
added about 6 years ago

And don't forget that some vegetarians do not eat eggs- so in addition to anchovies, eggs are an essential ingredient- it's a mayonnaise after all.

0dcfb05c 8a90 480f 8cf7 cbc33e9a6b5c  me
added about 6 years ago

You can create a vegetarian alternative to Caesar dressing, but the anchovies are what gives it its unique flavor.

Bb911bcd 2446 4d8f 848f cdc2090e999a  leaf cake
added about 6 years ago

If you want a nice vegetarian Caesar Salad dressing without eggs or anchovies, try the recipe in the The Silver Palate New Basics Cookbook:

Caesar Dressing

1 teaspoon lemon zest
3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon white wine vinegar
2/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon coarsely ground pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt

Combine the lemon zest, juice, garlic and vinegar in a small bowl, and whisk well. Slowly add the olive oil, whisking constantly until smooth. Add the pepper and salt and set aside. Makes one cup.

C0d1f1de 4134 43ba 9510 1d7a8caa31f3  scan0004
added about 6 years ago

I have seen a suggestion to use capers to give the dressing a salty hit, as a stand-in for the anchovies. Haven't tried it yet, but why not?

Let's Keep in Touch!

Get the recipes and features that have us talking, plus first dibs on events and limited-batch products.

(Oh, and $10 off your order of $50 or more in the Food52 Shop, too.)

Please enter a valid email address.